Bringing Home Puppy


Dog Park Etiquette
July 30, 2009, 12:24 pm
Filed under: Dogs, Pets | Tags: , , , , , ,

So as first time dog owners, we are relatively new onto the dog park scene.  There seems to be quite a lot of etiquitte involved, aside from simply picking up your dog’s poop (which some people STILL fail to do…ARGH)

It seems every park has a certain dog other owners groan when they see (“Oh god…its Max…”), because the -usually inatentive- owner allows the dog to be overly aggressive, wild, and generally disruptive.

Because I don’t want to be that guy, I am reaching out with a few questions for my more experienced dog owning friends.

1) Is it okay to give treats to other dogs?  I’m guessing no because of potential diet and allergy problems, but I thought I’d ask anyway.

2) At what point is it too late to introduce yourself and ask the other owner’s name?  You see, I know 60% of the other dog’s names…and 0% of their owners.  How does one make this transition?

3) Once you know their names, can you ask other owners about their jobs (and give them your resume? Hypothetically speaking, of course! haha)  Okay, that was awkward. I won’t do this.  Yet.

4) How do you politely say that someone else’s dog is being too rough with yours? (I know my feelings would be a bit hurt by this, but I also understand that it might be necessary to hear too)

5) How do people feel about humping?  Okay/not okay?  (And I mean dog-on-dog humping people!  Jeez!  I say this because I saw a rediculous amout of humping the other day.  I mean rediculous.  And I know its for dominance, and not procreation, but it still creeps me out.

6) Am I over-thinking these things?!

Basically, I don’t want my dog to be the Max of the park.  And I don’t want to be the creepy/annoying owner that the other people hate running into.  Advice on this would be welcome!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

1) I don’t let people give Sousa treats. But that’s because she is a “Max” and she will fight other dogs if food is all of a sudden at stake. So to avoid feeding a dog that might turn into a monster, I’d say don’t give out treats.

2) I still haven’t figured that out. I usually end up just lucking out when a significant other is present and the names come up.

3) Totally ask for jobs.

4) Blame it on your dog if you can.

5) Humping is bad. Especially because it is for dominance.

Comment by Auntie Becky




Leave a Reply

